~~~

I’ve often heard that it’s best we leave everyone the way we would want to leave them if it were the last time we saw them. That’s a powerful statement and I don’t take it lightly.

And I’m not exempt from daily frustration, human error or saying something I wish I hadn’t said. But I’m also not exempt from shooting an apology out just as fast. It’s just who I am !

But I read this phrase today and it literally took my breath away. Read the first sentence slowly, very slowly. Then repeat it silently to yourself in those frustrating moments when you feel yourself about to lash out at someone.

“Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight. Extend to them all the care, kindness and understanding you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same.”

~ Og Mandino ~

Think about that…slowly. There you are standing face to face with the temptation to lash out at someone. Look in their eye and your soul and say they’re going to be dead by midnight.  Pretty powerful.

And if for some reason you’ve lashed out anyway or before this phrase had time to come to mind – apologize. It has a profound affect.

😉

